Forums » Motorcycle Discussions

Highly Flammable

• 220 posts
    May 10, 2016 9:15 PM EDT
    Highly Flammable

Edge Walker July 9, 2011
    I wrote and posted this story back in 2011. It recounts a tale from my past, one I hope never to forget. When I first posted it, I caught a LOT of flak from readers about how ‘This could never have happened, you’re lying!’ and ‘It must have been diesel, but it wouldn’t have caught fire’ or ‘Fun story but I think that’s all it is, a story’… ouch

I will say this once more; I am a writer, a rider and a biker. I write fiction out of my twisted mind. In addition, historical fiction based on my experiences and stories told to me by other bikers and finally, non-fiction stories that have happened to ME! I change the characters and club names (for my protection) and when I write about something I say happened to me, you can ‘Take that to the bank’. I’m an honorable man and a good writer; do you really think I would lie in a public forum? Why not just post this under ‘Fiction’ and move on?

This is a true story that happened to ME! If you don’t believe my story, that’s fine. Read it as ‘fiction’ and enjoy. I respectfully ask that you do not call me a ‘liar’… since you weren’t there to help me pick up the pieces of my bike or put up with my Bro when he was trying to pick up on one the ER nurses while they reset his jawbone. No breaks, just dislocated jaw. Read my story, comment if you wish and thanks for reading!

The night air pressing against my body was hot, at least 95* and we were riding in Levi’s, boots and cotton tee’s. I was riding my 57/67 pan shovel. Rigid frame, 12” over springer front end with no front brake. My riding partner of 2 years was next to me on his hopped-up 750 Kawasaki and we were heading home after tipping a few. I had stayed within my self-imposed limit of two drink = one hour and felt comfortable on the bike and in my skin.